No. 01 – Halloween Cometh

Hello! My name is Raven, and I started this blog to chronicle my excursions with food and crafts. I will also most likely be posting just about anything that interests me. :) Clothing, food, art (that other people make), craft ideas, awesome things I experience.

I currently live in Seattle, but grew up in Alaska, so you will probably hear and see references to that as well. And yes, the name of this blog is intentionally a play on words. I like to do that. Don’t judge! :P

I don’t have the awesomest camera yet, but I do know how to use Photoshop, so I will probably use that to my advantage. lol. I actually think my phone takes better pictures than my camera, which is kind of sad.

But anyhow, enough of the introduction stuff! Let’s  get this started with some crafting!

So, Halloween is in a week, and as it’s been a while since I even attempted to throw a party, and since my roommates and I never had a housewarming at our new place, I decided an AWESOME Halloween party was in order.

I’ve been planning this for almost two months. I’m sure my friends are all sick of hearing me talk about it. I sometimes think I might be tired of thinking about it. lol. But it’s still exciting. I mean, this is what I’m hoping is the first in a long line of awesome Halloween parties. I’m sure eventually they’ll become more kid themed, but I know there are a few bachelorettes or child-less people out there who love to throw parties. But I’m hoping anyone who loves to throw parties will benefit from this blog.

Here’s just a little bit of what I’ve been working on…more ideas for both crafts and food to come in the coming week or two!

Food and Drink Signs

Here, I’m creating little free-standing signs for the food I’m going to have. Nothing’s what it looks like – pigs in blankets become baby finger sandwiches, apple cider is really witch’s brew, and chocolate pudding is really graveyard dirt. I just had to make little signs so the monsters at my party knew they were getting the real deal!

I printed out the food list on cream cardstock (because my printer is a front loader, I had to account for the fact that cardstock is a little too heavy to load properly, and I adjusted the text lower down on the page, so it wouldn’t get cut off), but you could use regular printer paper. I cut out each piece. I wasn’t too careful – having it a little wonky for a Halloween party is okay! Then I used double-sided tape to tape the pieces to orange, green, or purple cardstock, leaving enough room for a little border around each. Once they were all assembled, I took “Woodsies” square popsicle sticks and cut them in half at an angle, so one end was pointy. I glued the other end to the signs, and let them dry. While they were drying, I took small (about 1 1/2 inch) styrofoam balls and cut them in half. Using black acrylic paint, I panted each, not worrying too much about saturating all of the surface – the natural color of the styrofoam lends itself to being a bit sparkly in light, so I didn’t have to use glitter (but you totally can, if you want! Use clear glue, and after the paint is dry (if you’re using a base paint color) put the glitter on). Then I stuck the food signs in a half sphere of foam and voila! Free-standing food signs that can go on the food platters, the counter, the table…anywhere you need them too. Of course, they’re not super weighted down, so a good nudge will knock them over, but if you need to put them down more permanently, feel free to use double-sided tape or little removable sticky glue dots. And you can totally do something similar for other holidays or parties too!

Invitations

These are samples of the invites I did for the party. The graveyard stamp I didn’t have, but I had a picture of it, so I made it a brush in photoshop and added the fancy text – putting several on a page then printing it out on grey cardstock. I took a clear stamp block, pressed it into dark brown ink then rubbed it over the purple cardstock for that “evening” look. I cut out circles of cream paper for the moons and then used some creative inking to get them to look like harvest moons. Then I took some green and black paper and ripped them to get that weathered edge, and layered it all together! For the inside, I made an insert, printed it out on cream cardstock, then trimmed it to fit the inside of the card, then sent them out!

“Pick Your Poison” Drink List

This is my drink list for the party! I saw some AWESOME black vodka drinks on MarthaStewart.com, and came up with the idea to have a sort of drink list…that people could “order” from. :)

I made up the list in photoshop, adding in some fun blood brushes and other Halloween embellishments. I used “Old Script” for the font. Then I tea-dyed the paper. (If you don’t have a lot of heavily inked images, you will probably want to tea-dye the paper first, because the tea will lift up the ink while it soaks.) To tea-dye, brew very stong black tea (like Lipton) then let it cool. Set it in a shallow bin large enough to put your paper in, then soak the paper for a few hours. Overnight is fine, but it will turn out darker. Once dry, the paper waves and curls like old parchment! I found an awesome frame at an art store in downtown Seattle my friend works at, then trimmed the paper to fit, and yay! I have an awesome drink list to order from. I’ll be setting it on the bar-counter where all the alcohol will be for the party.

I have a few more crafts I’ve made for the party that I will share in the coming days. Look out for more!

Also, if you’re just looking for some visual inspiration, check out my Pinterest page (link on the left). Pinterest is a fun site where you can “pin” things you find on the internet (with pictures) to share with everyone, and just to help you when you’re looking for inspiration or ideas. Some of the things I’ve done for my party are based off of things I’ve pinned, some I saw after the fact…but I just want to pass on as much inspiration as I can! You really can’t own an idea…anything you do with it is unique to you! So go out, find some inspiration, and make it your own.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

